The Year of the Rooster

Browse by Tag

Sort by

In the Chinese lunar calendar, year 2017 is a Year of the Fire Rooster. It begins on January 28, 2017 and ends on February 15, 2018. 

The Rooster is one of the twelve animals in the Chinese zodiac. According to a story told by the Chinese Buddhists, rooster was the tenth animal that arrived to a feast given by the Buddha. 

The Chinese astrologers assign zodiac signs to the Five Elements: metal, water, wood, fire and earth.  The zodiac sign returns every twelve years, but a particular combination of the zodiac sign and the element occurs only every sixty years. This means that the next Year of the Fire Rooster will be celebrated in 2077!